Skip to Content

Four earn Employee of the Quarter honors

Four earn Employee of the Quarter honors

Four exemplary Marshalltown CSD staff members have been recognized with an Employee of the Quarter award for the First Quarter of 2022-23. The honorees include:

The Employee of the Quarter honorees for the first quarter of the 2022-23 school year are, from left: Nivath Baccam, Sierra Ferneau, Brad Rahmiller, and Jocelyn Schmidt.
  • Nivath Baccam – Marshalltown High School 10-month secretary
  • Sierra Ferneau – Hoglan Elementary paraeducator
  • Brad Rahmiller – Marshalltown High School government teacher
  • Jocelyn Schmidt – Anson Elementary fourth grade teacher

All four were nominated by their peers for their dedication to student success, positivity with peers, and for going above and beyond in their respective roles.

“Nivath seeks to ensure staff, students, parents and community members feel welcomed when coming to the main office at MHS – she greets them joy in her voice and a smile in her eyes,” said MHS Principal Jacque Wyant, who nominated Baccam. “It is hard to keep having a bad day after interacting with Nivath.”

Employee of the Quarter honoree Nivath Baccam, second from right, is joined by Superintendent Dr. Theron Schutte, left, MHS Principal Jacque Wyant, second from left, and MHS Associate Principal Michael Dale, right.

At Hoglan Elementary, Sierra Ferneau regularly goes the extra mile to serve students and is an excellent collaborator with special education teacher Sara Nichols, who nominated Ferneau for the first quarter award.

“[Ferneau] knows students’ abilities and does a great job helping me find ways to include them in the lessons that are appropriate for their abilities.” Nichols said.

Dr. Schutte, left, Hoglan special education teacher Sara Nichols, second from left, and Hoglan Principal Amy Williams, right, celebrate with Employee of the Quarter honoree Sierra Ferneau, second from right.

MHS government teacher Brad Rahmiller was commended for his ability to successfully engage students in class lessons. Rahmiller was also praised for supporting his fellow teachers.

“In my experience as a new teacher, Brad is always willing to lend a hand,” said MHS social studies teacher KayLeigh Behounek, who joined fellow teachers Alex Abbe and Aaron Benscoter in nominating Rahmiller. “The projects and assignments [Rahmiller] creates cater toward all students.”

Pictured, from left: Superintendent Dr. Theron Schutte; MHS teachers KayLeigh Behounek, Alex Abbe, Brad Rahmiller, and Aaron Benscoter; MHS Principal Jacque Wyant, and Director of Instruction Shauna Smith celebrate Rahmiller’s Employee of the Quarter honor.

Anson fourth grade teacher Jocelyn Schmidt goes out of her way to find creative ways to meet her students’ needs. Anson Instructional Coach Jennifer Nelson said she nominated Schmidt for doing an excellent job of collaborating with her students and fellow staff members.

“Jocelyn sets students up to be leaders and gives them the space to be responsible for their own learning,” Nelson said. “It is evident that students feel they belong in their classroom.”

Pictured, from left: Dr. Schutte, Anson Principal Ronnie Manis, Schmidt, Director of Instruction Shauna Smith, and Anson Instructional Coach Jennifer Nelson.

Congratulations to these four incredible school staff members!